You are here

Tue, Oct 3, 2017 7:00pm –


The Italian Academy
1161 Amsterdam Avenue
New York  New York  10027
United States
The Columbia Italian Academy

Momenta Quartet

Momenta: the plural of momentum – four individuals in motion towards a common goal. This is the idea behind the Momenta Quartet, whose eclectic vision encompasses contemporary music of all aesthetic backgrounds alongside great music from the recent and distant past. The New York City-based quartet has premiered over 100 works and collaborated with over 120 living composers.

Benjamin Britten: String Quartet No. 3

 inspired by Thomas Mann's “Death in Venice”
Claude Baker: Third String Quartet
 world premiere; inspired by Liszt's “Years of Pilgrimage: Italy”
Tchaikovsky: Souvenir de Florence, Op. 70 for string sextet