You are here

Thu, Feb 28, 2019 8:00pm –


Carnegie Hall
881 7th Ave
New York  New York  10019
United States
Carnegie Hall

Orchestra of St. Luke's | Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven

Haydn’s craftsmanship, melodic mastery, and sharp wit inspired generations of composers after him, including Mozart and Beethoven. Haydn’s “Farewell” Symphony was the composer’s way of telling his boss, Prince Nikolaus Esterházy, that the court musicians wanted to return to their families after an unexpectedly long period of employment from which they were not permitted leave—after three bustling movements, it winds down to silence to deliver the message. Haydn’s “children” have their say as well: Beethoven’s concerto bubbles over with wit and high spirits, while Mozart’s melodically splendid concert aria weaves voice and obbligato violin into a pseudo operatic duet.

Orchestra of St. Luke's
Bernard Labadie, Principal Conductor
Ying Fang, Soprano
Paul Lewis, Piano

HAYDN Overture to L'Isola disabitata
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 2
MOZART "Non temer, amato bene," K. 490
HAYDN Symphony No. 45, "Farewell"

​Tickets are available only to current Columbia students, faculty, and staff, and can be purchased both online and in person at the TIC in Lerner Hall lobby.

All tickets must be picked up at the TIC with a current CUID. There is a limit of 2 tickets per CUID per show.

Image Credit: Bernard Labadie by Dario Acosta, Ying Fang by Arthur Moeller, Paul Lewis by Josep Molina