Boston Symphony Orchestra
On Sale at the TIC
Boston Symphony Orchestra
The Boston Symphony Orchestra returns with violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter in a program that includes Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 1 and the New York premiere of Thomas Adès’s Air for Violin and Orchestra.
Sold Out
Carnegie Hall - Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
April 25, 2023 | 8:00 pm


Violin Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Major, K. 207
Thomas Adès
Air for Violin and Orchestra (NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
Symphony No. 5


Boston Symphony Orchestra
Andris Nelsons
Music Director and Conductor
Anne-Sophie Mutter
Golda Schultz


Carnegie Hall
Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
57th Street & 7th Avenue
New York, NY

About The Performance

The Boston Symphony Orchestra returns with Anne-Sophie Mutter—“the undisputed queen of violin-playing” (The Times, London)—in a program that includes Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 1 and the New York premiere of Thomas Adès’s Air for Violin and Orchestra, composed specifically for Mutter. The concert also features two notable Sibelius works, including the infrequently performed yet well-loved Luonnotar, with its notoriously demanding vocal part, which tells of the world’s creation over the course of 10 stunning minutes. The composition of Sibelius’s Fifth Symphony is its own tale of personal and societal strife, and highly memorable for its moments of great, yet unresolved, triumph.
For more information about this performance, please visit the event website.

Images (L to R): Andris Nelsons / photo by Marco Borggreve; Anne-Sophie Mutter / photo by The Japan Art Association and Sankei Shimbun; Golda Schultz / photo by Dario Acosta